EBOOK ✓ EPUB A Watermelon ã a Fish and a Bible Í DANPASHLEY

READER × a Fish and a Bible ☆ Christy Lefteri

A Watermelon a Fish and a Bible A heartwarming tale of love amid warA moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of AleppoIt is July 1974 and on a bright sunny morning the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus For many people this means an end to life as they know it But for some it is a chance to begin living again Everyone has always talked about Koki They never believed she was her fathers daughter and her mother died too soon I feel that the reading of this book was slightly impacted by the fact that I was reading it in spurts mainly while on various trains and whilst really sleepy Still this goes to show that it wasn't particularly exciting to me because I've powered through books in the middle of the night whilst dead tired because I really wanted to know what happens next At any rate I liked it enough despite the fact that it's historical fiction and not fantasy so shrug I'd say it's a tentative 35 star book just because I'm not sureThe best bits of this book are the beginning and the end It starts off with this really fairy tale like seuence full of symbolism It's beautiful and sad setting you up to journey through war torn Cyprus in 1974 Lefteri moves you through the capture of Kyrenia through several viewpoints Maroulla's childish innocence Adem Berker's loss and guilt Richard's longing Commander Serkan Demir's anger and hatred Koki's fear Sometimes it's too much the core of this story feels like Koki's the way she's caught between Greeks and Turks an outcast to both groups as much as she is deeply tied to both I loved the way Adem's Richard's and Koki's stories weaved in and out of each other I didn't care so much about Serkan or what his whole confusing interaction with the baby was about and whilst I loved the thread of the rose and the petals and the innocent fairy tale of Maroulla that both starts and ends the novel she wasn't ultimately very important to the story Whilst she acted as a sort of impetus for Koki to keep moving keep trying to survive I kind of feel that she could have been replaced by anything or anyone elseThe middle dragged a little as events played out over the five days There's an immersion in memories of the past both a sense of longing for what was as well as a lingering regret over how things played out over the years Ostracism of the Other seems to be a key theme which recurs over and over again both on a personal and a national level with the microaggressions of the Greek Cypriots against Adem and Koki seemingly representative the aggressions of the Greek Cypriots towards the Turkish Cypriots and the British in their midst on a national level In retaliation the Turkish soldiers rape the women and murder the men on a macro scale of revenge even though these specific women have done nothing to them personallyThe ending which I can't say too much of because of spoilers? maybe? is a beautiful execution of the classic race against time leaving you braced in your seat with bated breath hoping that yes they will meet yes things will work out in the end no no please don't miss each otherYes so I was hooked by the beginning got slightly bored by the middle and then loved the ending so overall I'm not very sure how much I actually liked it

EBOOK A Watermelon

EBOOK ✓ EPUB A Watermelon ã a Fish and a Bible Í DANPASHLEY Ï ❰KINDLE❯ ❄ A Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible: A heartwarming tale of love amid war Author Christy Lefteri – Danpashley.co.uk A moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of AleppoIt is July 19To uiet their wagging tongues And when she became pregnant and there was no sign of a husband her fate was sealed So she lives outside the town and hides from her neighbours eyes But held captive with the very women who have made her life so lonely Koki is finally able to tell them the truth To talk of the Turkish shoe maker who came to the town and took her heart away with him when he left And I cant even read this book i don't think this book has been proof read at all the words went over the margins and any sentence that started with a capital letter was a space in between L ike T hat and W as really annoying all the way through the book i gave up trying to fill in the missing letters i would love to hear if anyone else has had this problem or have i just got a dud book for the money i paid i'm disappointed

Christy Lefteri ☆ A heartwarming tale of love amid war PDF

How she has longed for him all these years Meanwhile Adem Berker finds himself back in Kyrenia his former home now as a member of the invading force Here he left everything he ever wanted and by cover of darkness risking his life he is searching every house every cafe every old pathway for just a glimpse of the only woman he has ever lovedFor readers of The Island The Book Thief and The Kite Runn Following the invasion of Cyprus 1974 the story focuses on the survival of a group of women that are held in now occupied Kyrenia As the author switches effectively from past to present tense we learn about past loves heartbreak and turmoil through the eyes of the main characters Whilst it was an enjoyable read I found the ending uite flat what happened to the other women? the story moved on uite uickly and the ending felt rushed what happened to Adem in the end yes a shot was heard I know could this have been expanded ? a seuel to this book would be good to see