READ ✓ Circle of Cranes


REVIEW Circle of Cranes

READ ✓ Circle of Cranes ó ❰EPUB❯ ✶ Circle of Cranes Author Annette LeBox – Danpashley.co.uk A lyrical fantasy blending fairy tale elements with contemporary issues Thirteen year old Suyin is a poor orphan who has a strange gift with languages and a mysterious connection to the cranes in her A lyrical fantasy blending fairy taA the villagers elect Suyin whom they consider lucky to go as Circle of Epubtheir benefactress But instead of luxury Suyin is forced to work in a sweatshop in New York City's Chinatown Suyin's future seems hopeless until her beloved cranes arrive and reveal that she is no ordinary girl instead she is the daught. I enjoyed this book because I learned about a different culture and got an inside look at human trafficking I also got to learn a lot about cranes China and embroidery It was a many layered book about friendship greed and community Great work Annette

Circle of CranesA the villagers elect Suyin whom they consider lucky to go as Circle of Epubtheir benefactress But instead of luxury Suyin is forced to work in a sweatshop in New York City's Chinatown Suyin's future seems hopeless until her beloved cranes arrive and reveal that she is no ordinary girl instead she is the daught. I enjoyed this book because I learned about a different culture and got an inside look at human trafficking I also got to learn a lot about cranes China and embroidery It was a many layered book about friendship greed and community Great work Annette

FREE READ Õ DANPASHLEY.CO.UK ´ Annette LeBox

Circle of Cranes Å A lyrical fantasy blending fairy tale elements with contemporary issues Thirteen year old Suyin is a poor orphan who has a strange gift with languages and a mysterious connection to the cranes in her small Chinese village When a shady human trafficker arrives promising luxury and riches beyond belief in Americ. If you were to judge this novel by it’s cover you would perhaps peg it as a light story involving some retelling of a fairy tale Something pretty that can be read put away and out of your mind as you move on to other books You would be wrong because a Circle of Cranes is definitely substantial than the majority of its counterparts It deals with a folktale that is not commonly known in North America – at least I didn’t know it – and the protagonist is not a first world citizen confident about her status in the world she is living I won’t lie I thought I would zip through the novel but I found the experience a lot ponderous than I had expected it to be While the retelling is a folktale the issues the novel discusses is most definitely contemporary The antagonists in the novel smuggle Asian in this instance Chinese children into America and then put them to work in garment factories and other hovel like places They are overworked and underpaid They are imprisoned like sub humans and treated like animals They have no rights and their only link to their families and the lives they left behind in their country of origin is through letters and these too are controlled by their bossesCircle of Cranes is a story of a sisterhood both the mythical crane sisterhood and the immediate real sisterhood that the smuggled girls along with the protagonists find themselves forming through shared experiences losses and hopes The book is sometimes a bit too dry but it is consistent in tone and delivery It does not waver from its true purpose and that is to seamlessly intersperse the magical with the mundane There are no enchanting princes on white chargers there is not even a mysterious boy in a biology class This book takes the average reader out of her element and places her stock and barrel into a world as alien to her as our world must have seemed to Suyin I loved the glimpse of the different culture and how unapologetically LeBox narrated the differences in the Miao culture and the North American one The journey Suyin goes through is gradual and I liked seeing her grow in increments from the child she was to the woman she becomes at the end The romance too is shy and bashful and I liked how delicately LeBox wove it into the narrative threadAgain I don’t think this novel is an easy read It makes you confront the wrongs that are being done and makes you look at a very bleak sort of life But it also shows that beauty persists no matter the surroundings and that hope is always present It is just a matter of recognizing it Do I recommend it Certainly It’s very different from everything else I have read so far FREE READ Õ DANPASHLEY.CO.UK ´ Annette LeBox

Annette LeBox ´ 1 READ

Annette LeBox ´ 1 READ Er of the Crane ueen Now her mother's life is in danger and Suyin must prove herself worthy of her position as the Crane Princess in order to save her mother and the entire clan of cranes For fans of Grace Lin and Laurence Yep this is a beautiful story of the meaning of family and finding one's true path in lif. I had gotten Circle of Cranes from a Goodreads giveaway and it's one of the best giveaway I've ever gottenThis book is set in the times when it was popular because the American laws hadn't gotten around this problem yet for illegal Chinese migrants were smuggled into America by snakeheads who promised gold and fortune but did not deliverDespite the heavy issues such as death and betrayal the book is lighthearted enough to not let the readers go too deep in the darkness of that time period It helped that a little fantasy which was inspired by the Asian crane legend was involved as wellThis story is not focused on the living conditions of those Chinese labours It's mainly focused on the growth of the main character Suyin Like many before them Suyin's village was bought in by a snakehead's silvertongue and had sent her aboard the smuggler's ship in hopes that she would send them American money which is worth a lot in China in that timeStarting from her journey to America Suyin is faced with problems such as loneliness homesickness decit starvation ridicule a girl's jealousy betrayal theft a boy's attentions shouldering the hopes of her village and her crane family hopelessness and much However in the midst of all that she finds hope courage and strength to survive the harsh conditions and come out on top of itHowever I find that the story moves really fast I know that months and perhaps even years had passed in the book but the way it just suddenly jumps from event to event makes the lengthy time less noticable That and the passing of time isn't often mentioned one minute I think the story is still at time A and then suddenly the next sentence reveals that it was actually six months after time AAlso I get confused at times as to what language they are speaking For instance sometimes when I think they were speaking in English they were actually speaking in Chinese It wasn't until it was mentioned that they had switched to English that I found out Also when it came to Chinese I get confused as there were both Mandarin and Cantonese prounications And sometimes it was mentioned that they were speaking in Cantonese but not all people from China knows how to speak Cantonese Mandarin or Putonghua is commonly spoken thereAnyhow all in all this is a good book and I would recommend it